Bogorad Award

The chapter selects one or two students each year to receive the Bogorad Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement in the liberal arts based on the academic record through the end of the sophomore year. The award is presented at the chapter’s December ceremony.

The award is named in honor of Samuel Nathan Bogorad, a longtime friend and affiliate of the Alpha of Vermont. Prof. Bogorad was elected to Phi Beta Kappa at Brown University in 1939. He joined the faculty at UVM in 1946. While in Burlington, he served for eight years as the chair of the English Department, and he held the Corse Professorship in English Language and Literature until his retirement in 1982. He remained an active member of the university family until his death in December 1993. For years, Prof. Bogorad claimed for himself the privilege of bestowing Phi Beta Kappa keys on new initiates, thus being the first to congratulate them on the distinction they have achieved.

Recent winners:

2023: Henry Bijur (Neuroscience)

2022: Justine Goldblatt (Zoology) and Emilia Winquist (Mathematics)

2021: Ellie Churchill (Economics and Environmental Studies) and Emma Cripps (Economics and Environmental Studies – CALS)

2020: Moira Mahoney (English)

2019: Simone Withers (Sociology)

2018: Meryl Braconnier (Environmental Sciences) and Ginny Churchill (Music and Chemistry)

2017: Annelise Couderc (Environmental Sciences & Political Science) and Emily Klofft (Political Science)

2016: Julia Cline (Biological Science)

2015: Emma Tait (Geography)

2014: Brendan Hennessey (Geography) and Sara McGee (Latin & Linguistics)

2013: Christopher Kenseth (Chemistry)

2012: Michael Wood (French & Sociology)

2011: James Aglio (Greek & Latin) and Kelsey Hammond (French)