We have been using the SharePoint automatic site usage confirmation and deletion of Windows SharePoint Services 3.0. An annoying aspect of this feature (and there are many) is that if a site that was use in use gets deleted, and we subsequently restore the site, the site still is not confirmed as in use and will get deleted on the next site deletion timer job.
To combat this, we need to acknowledge the site as in use manually. Unfortunately, MS does not document the site usage confirmation URL anywhere. Fortunately, I was able to dig it out eventually:
Just use the following URL as a template, and substitute the name of the site to confirm in place of [sitename]: